Share This

Hewei Hu

Hewei Hu is a fourth-year undergraduate student at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. They were born and grew up in Hefei, the capital city of Anhui province in China. In 2018, they came to Chapel Hill to pursue their undergraduate degrees in linguistics and classical archaeology. In their second year at UNC, they spent one year studying abroad at the University of Edinburgh in Scotland. Both their fondness and struggles with living in different cultural settings helped develop their interest in ancient Egyptians’ interactions with the rest of the Mediterranean world during the Late Period and Hellenistic Period. It is fascinating for them to study human reactions to new ideologies and material cultures on community and individual levels that are driven by human beliefs, emotions, prejudices, and understanding of the world. Now, they are working as a curatorial intern at the Ancient Art department at the North Carolina Museum of Art. In fall 2022, they will be attending a classics postgraduate program at the University of Reading, U.K., to continue their academic career in classical art and archaeology.

Ten Things I Can’t Do Without

  1. My supportive friends, parents, and all the pets I have lived with!
  2. My water bottle
  3. My electronic devices
  4. Homemade food and baked goods
  5. Therapy
  6. Nice, hot shower
  7. Barbells and my beloved foam roller
  8. A walk where I can just look at birds, flowers, and the sky
  9. Fun museums
  10. Local coffee and boba shops